Supervisory Board

The members of the Supervisory Board of Directors (the Supervisory Board) are nominated by the board itself and (re)appointed by the GMS for a period of four years.

The GMS and the Works Council may recommend people for appointment to the Supervisory Board.

The current members of GE Artesia Bank’s Supervisory Board are:

Peter Herbert

Peter Herbert, chairman

Peter Herbert was appointed chairman of the Supervisory Board in 2011. He is the chairman of the Remuneration Committee.

Peter Herbert is the CEO of GE Capital’s European Mortgage & Restructuring Group (EMRG), a General Electric business unit with more than $40 billion in assets across seven European countries.

Peter Herbert has over 35 years of international finance and banking experience. He worked for Barclays for several years, first as CFO of the Barclaycard division and then the domestic UK Banking division; from 2000 to 2003 he was the company’s Strategy and Planning group director, and from 2003 through 2006 he served as the managing director for Barclaycard International.

During his career with Barclays, Peter Herbert gained valuable experience in managing international departments in South Africa and North America.

Before joining General Electric in 2008 as chairman and CEO of GE Money Bank in the Czech Republic, he spent two years as the deputy group general manager for the International Banking Group at the National Bank of Kuwait.

  • Master of Science (MSc) in Banking, University of Kent, United Kingdom

Eva Simon Thomas

Eva Simon Thomas

Eva Simon Thomas joined the Supervisory Board in 2012. She is a member of the Risk & Audit Committee.

Eva Simon Thomas started her career at Nauta Dutilh, then moved on to a broad variety of roles at ABN AMRO Bank. She served as the bank’s General Counsel until ABN AMRO was acquired by RFS Holdings in 2007, after which she was the head of policy for the Dutch Banking Association. Eva Simon Thomas now works for the independent investment firm 5square.

  • Master of Laws (LLM) in Civil Law, 1978, Leiden University, the Netherlands

Jan Zegering Hadders

Jan Zegering Hadders

Jan Zegering Hadders joined the Supervisory Board in 2010. He is the chairman of the Risk & Audit Committee.

Jan Zegering Hadders has enjoyed a long career in banking at AMRO Bank, Postbank, NMB Postbank and ING Groep. He served as the chairman of the board of directors at ING Nederland from 2000 to 2007.

  • Advanced Management, Wharton Executive Education Program,1996, University of Pennsylvania, United States of America
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA), 1976, Erasmus University Rotterdam and Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
  • Master of Science (MSc) in Business Economics, 1964, University of Groningen, the Netherlands


The Supervisory Board has two committees: the Remuneration Committee and the Risk & Audit Committee.

Remuneration Committee
The Remuneration Committee makes recommendations to the Supervisory Board on responsible remuneration policy and monitors the implementation of that policy.

Risk & Audit Committee
The Risk & Audit Committee advises and assists the Supervisory Board in its mission of supervising the bank’s commercial activities and management in respect of the principles of "enterprise risk management" and “corporate governance”.



Would you like more information or customized advice?

Please contact us

Corporate Governance Documents

All our documents related to compliance and policy in one place, for easy access.

View downloads
Our Services

Our Services

Our specialized services: finance for trade and working capital.

Read more